questions & answers: using the japan rail pass

tokyo-nagano-takayama-kyoto-nara-tokyo-mt fuji five lake

Tokyo-Nagano-Takayama-Kyoto-Nara-Tokyo-Mt Fuji Five Lake


We are planning to travel Japan in from 7-17 December 2016. Our destinations include Tokyo, Nagano, Takayama, Kyoto and Mt Fuji Five Lake.

We want to travel Japan via 7 days JR Pass, but understand there are few types of JR Pass (JR East, JR Central etc..). May you advise which type of JR Pass should we purchase.

Thank you.


Hi there,

Its quite simply for your trip, use a 7 day JR Pass. This because there is no other pass that covers all the places you wish to travel to. All the area passes are restricted, to certain areas and you plan to travel to quite a couple.

Enjoy your trip!

Expert button 2

Order your Japan Rail Pass Online

Starting from $255.00 for 7 days of unlimited Japan Rail travel

Please note: we are only able to handle order related enquiries via our online direct support. Commercial advertising is prohibited as per our website terms.