questions & answers: using the japan rail pass

7 or 14 day rail pass

7 or 14 day rail pass

Hi Daniel-san

We are hoping you can guide us on our itinerary and best way to travel around Japan

Arrive Tuesday 15th April -Tokyo
Wednesday 16th April - Tokyo
Thursday 17th April - Tokyo
Friday 18th April - Tokyo to Hakone
Saturday 19th April - Hakone
Sunday 20th April - Hakone to Kyoto
Monday 21st April - Kyoto
Tuesday 22nd April - Kyoto
Wednesday 23rd April - Kyoto (maybe a day trip to Hiroshima)
Thursday 24th April - Kyoto (maybe spend the evening in Osaka)
Friday 25th April - Kyoto to Tokyo
Saturday 26th April - Tokyo
Sunday 27th April - Tokyo
Monday 28th April - leave Japan

We are unsure whether to purchase a 7 day JR pass and activate in Hakone or whether we should use single journeys to get around. Which would be more cost effective? Also can we use a JR pass in Tokyo? If so would we be better off getting a 14 day pass?

Look forward to hearing from you :)


Hi Roshers,

I think that a 7 day JR Pass would be the best choice, the price of a 7 day JR Pass is just about the same price as a normal return ticket Tokyo - Osaka/Kyoto. I think the main reason to consider the pass would be for the added flexibility that you can just hop on a train as you feel like it. This is especially nice if you do plan to make the trip to Hiroshima. The JR Pass can also be used for local travel around Tokyo / Osaka however local travel in not very expensive.

For the rest I think your plan looks fine, if you really want to make the most of your JR Pass consider making a day trip from Tokyo on the 26th of April, Kamakura, Nikko or Yokohama are all great places not too far from Tokyo.

Hope this helps,


Order your Japan Rail Pass Online

Starting from $279.00 for 7 days of unlimited Japan Rail travel

Please note: we are only able to handle order related enquiries via our online direct support. Commercial advertising is prohibited as per our website terms.